In the Service of University Libraries
Honorary members

Honorary life-time membership 

At the 42nd Annual Conference of IATUL

on June 14, 2022, in Miami, IATUL honoured 
Dr Reiner Kallenborn, University Librarian of the Technical University of Munich (TUM), with the honorary life-time membership.

The IATUL Board has the discretion to award an honorary life-time membership, to recognize an individual from an IATUL member institution who has served the association with marked distinction and has made significant contributions to IATUL through their leadership and engagement.

The award of the title took place during the General Assembly of IATUL, chaired by the President of IATUL, Dr. Anna Wałek. Dr. Reiner Kallenborn connected to Miami remotely.

The laureate is a longstanding member of IATUL, for which he served as Treasurer (2005-2011) and President (2013- 2018).

Among others, he introduced:

• the IATUL Office
• the IATUL Special Interest Groups
• the IATUL Directors’ Summit
• the IATUL Leadership Academy
• virtual regular IATUL Board meetings
• theme specific international IATUL workshops

In his vote of thanks, Dr. Reiner Kallenborn thanked his wife, his colleagues on the Board and all the staff for their dedicated support and commitment. In line with his collaborative leadership vision, he affirms that what has been achieved has been a joint effort.


Full list of IATUL Honorary Members

Prof. Tony EvansUnited Kingdom
Dr Nancy Fjällbrant (passed away in January 2024)Sweden
Joan HardyUnited Kingdom
Michael HillUnited Kingdom
Prof. Dr. em. Paul Kaegbein (1925-2023)              Germany
Dr. Reiner Kallenborn Germany
Dr Sinikka KoskialaFinland
Tony LlewellynFrance
Dr J. Zandvliet (passed away in 2014)Netherlands